Go to map

Rushock Hill - nr Kington

Tree ID: 5711

Yews recorded: Notable

Tree girth: No data

Girth height: No data

Tree sex: No data

Date of visit: 18/2/2021

Source of earliest mention: 1934 HMSO

Notes:

This is a part of Offa’s Dyke, though much eroded. It was constructed in the 8th Century by Offa, King of Mercia, as a defensive boundary between the Welsh and English. Two old Yew trees can be seen though there were three until recently. They were planted in the 18th Century by a local landowner to commemorate his three daughters. However legend got busy and changed them into three shepherds who died while tending their sheep in the snow hence they are known locally as “The Three Shepherds”. A replacement tree has now been planted to replace the dead tree.

Yew trees at Rushock Hill - nr Kington:

Tree ID Location Photo Yews recorded Girth
5711 Rushock Hill - nr Kington Notable No data available - view more info