Skip to content

Yews in the Diocese of Canterbury


Approximately 40 sites are identified in the Canterbury diocese with ancient or veteran yews. There are only eight English churchyards that can still boast 4 or more ancient or veteran yews. Six of these are in Kent - at Elmsted, Kennington, Molash, Ulcombe, Waldershare Park and Waltham.

Badlesmere   40kb                 
Barfrestone   50kb         
Boxley   110kb               
Broomfield   80kb

Buckland-in-Dover  920kb     
Challock   150kb          
Detling   50kb                
Eastling   90kb 

Egerton   100kb                        
Elmsted   280kb                
Godmersham  80kb      
Harrietsham   250kb

Kennington   350kb                
Leaveland   130kb       
Leeds   370kb                
Little Chart    115kb  

Loose   105kb                           
Molash   880kb              
Newington by Hythe   95kb

Nackington   35kb                 
Nonington  150kb         
Norton Court  105kb      
Petham   125kb         

Ringwould   250kb                  
Ripple  95kb                  
Rolvenden 120kb               
Sellindge  180kb                       

Selling   105kb                          
Sholden  65kb             
Stalisfield   110kb           
Stelling   105kb       

Stockbury  70kb                       
Stowting  295kb           
Thanington   110kb
Thurnham   55kb      

Tilmanstone   120kb               
Tunstall   65kb                   
Ulcombe  540kb                   
Upper Hardres   200kb        

Waldershare Park  520kb                                         
Walmer  135kb                    
Waltham  540kb